Too Late

The daily dose of a Daily Prompt by the Daily Post.

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

It was not the best of the mornings I’ve had. It’s not too late for work but then I realized, it was the weekend. I rubbed my eyes and convinced my body to get up. It was cold, from the rain that poured last night. From everything that had happened last night, it hit me. Yes, I’m now alone with red eyes and a roll of tissue from the drama which for all I know happened as fast as a bullet.

The drama which everyone usually have in their relationships infected us like a virus and it has been happening for almost a week. And ours was in the verge of breaking up. I just stared at the ceiling coated with fresh white ivory paint while trying to clear my mind for another set of possible arguments, mostly consisting of pride, not one of us letting our arms down. But I was so tired of the fighting so I just want to take things back to normal.

I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. It was still early for him to go out. I hurried up, grabbed my coat and went outside hoping that I might catch up.  But it was not how I imagined it. All of it, whatever I worked for and will try to work for years was gone just like that.

4 responses to “Too Late

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife·

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | The Daily Post – waldina·

  3. Pingback: Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat·

  4. Pingback: Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities·

Leave a Reply

